48 hours. Challenges identified by the German federal government and society. You and possibly 80 million other people. The Covid-19 crisis. A wide variety of solutions.

Contribute your skills as we develop solutions from society for society.

 

20 to 22 March 2020

 

Initiated by

Thank you

“During these hours, these participants have made the Internet what it once was: a meeting place of the best and most open kind”

Prof. Dr. Helge Braun
Head of the Federal Chancellery and Federal Minister for Special Tasks

The #WirVsVirus Hackathon

 

Together with the federal government, we are creating a digital participation process in the Corona crisis. Everywhere in Germany, individuals are working on solutions. The #WirVsVirus Online Hackathon is a digital space where we can all develop, test and improve solutions for emerging challenges.

Citizens as well as the ministries had the opportunity to submit their challenges until the Thursday before the hackathon. They asked themselves: What are the most pressing challenges we’re currently facing? What are the problems you would like to see solved? The challenges represent the ideas of individuals from all walks of life in Germany.

Everyone with time, interest and an internet connection was welcome to submit an idea – and we were absolutely floored by the scale of the response. 

 

Numbers

Participants

Innovators

Mentors

Company Support during the hackathon and afterwards

You’re representing a company or an organization that would like to support the hackathon, or help support the solutions developed during it? Get in touch! Should you want to make your expertise available to participants during the hackathon, also feel free to register as a mentor. Disclaimer: We’re no longer adding organizations as initiators. Please only use the contact form for submissions of interest. That way we can ensure that your great offers reach the right people.

The process

Thursday

20:00 – Deadline for challenge submission

Friday

14:00 – Last chance for participant registrations

16:00 – Slack access details are sent

18:00 – Team sign-Up (platform TBD)

18:30 – Opening call for participants

19:00 – Briefing email sent to mentors and sponsors

19:30 – Start hacking!

19:50 – 20:20 – Teams register on Devpost

Saturday

9:00 – Kick-off call

10:00 – Update call #1 via YouTube

17:00 – Update call #2 via YouTube

Sunday

10:00 – Update call #3 via YouTube

18:00 Uhr – Video submission deadline

18:30 – Closing ceremony via via YouTube

24:00 – Submission deadline for DevPost

 

And after Sunday?


The hackathon represents a starting point for what we hope will be an ongoing participatory process through which we want to develop collaborative solutions for the challenges posed by COVID-19. You and your team want to keep working on your idea after the end of the hackathon? You’ve got a prototype and now want to spend the coming weeks and months transforming it into a finished product? Or, you represent an existing, established initiative and need support for your next steps? We’ll be working with the federal government to establish a digital support program to ensure your solutions can have the greatest possible impact during the current crisis.

Initiators

How can we as a society work together to master the challenges that arise in the wake of the Corona (Covid-19) crisis with new solutions? We all asked ourselves this question – seven social initiatives – on Sunday. We are supported by the Federal Chancellery and the Digital Council.

Since Monday, 14 representatives of these 7 organizations have been working together remotely, combining their strength and creativity, to implement the #WirVsVirus Hackathon for the German government:

Patronage

The #WirVsVirus Hackathon is the federal government’s hackathon under the patronage of the head of the Federal Chancellery, Prof. Dr Helge Braun.

48 Stunden. Herausforderungen der Bundesregierung und aus der Gesellschaft. Du und theoretisch 80 Millionen andere. Die Covid-19 Krise. Vielfältige Lösungen.

Sei mit Deinen Fähigkeiten dabei, wenn wir Lösungen aus der Gesellschaft für die Gesellschaft entwickeln. 

 

20. bis 22. März 2020

 

Initiiert von

Schirmherr Prof. Dr. Helge Braun sagt DANKE!

„Diese Teilnehmer haben in diesen Stunden das Internet wieder zu dem gemacht, was es einmal war: ein Begegnungsort der besten und offensten Art“

Prof. Dr. Helge Braun
Chef des Bundeskanzleramtes und Bundesminister für besondere Aufgaben

Der #WirVsVirus Hackathon

 

Gemeinsam mit der Bundesregierung schaffen wir den digitalen Beteiligungsprozess in der Corona-Krise. Überall in Deutschland arbeiten Individuen an Lösungen. Der #WirVsVirus Online Hackathon ist der digitale Raum, in dem wir alle gemeinsam Lösungen für neu auftretende Herausforderungen entwickeln, testen und verbessern können.

Bis Donnerstagabend hatte jede:r Bürger:innen sowie die Bundesministerien Zeit, Herausforderungen einzureichen. Was sind derzeit die drängendsten Herausforderungen? Für welches Problem wünschst Du Dir eine Lösung? Die Herausforderungen kommen aus der Mitte der Gesellschaft von 80 Millionen Bürger:innen. 

Wir haben alle eingeladen, die Zeit, Lust & Internetzugang haben. Die unfassbare Begeisterung macht uns immer noch sprachlos. 

Zahlen

Anmeldungen

Teilnehmer:innen

Ideen Geber:innen

Mentor:innen

Company Support beim Hackathon oder danach

Du willst als Unternehmen oder als Organisation beim Hackathon oder bei der Verstetigung der Lösungen im Anschluss unterstützen? Dann trage Dich bitte ein. Disclaimer: wir nehmen keine weiteren Organisationen mehr als Initiatoren mehr auf. Bitte nutzt ausschließlich das Kontaktformular zur Einreichung. So stellen wir sicher, dass Eure fantastischen Angebote bei den richtigen Leuten landen. Bitte in dieses Formular ausschließlich kostenlose Angebote von Unternehmen und Organisationen eintragen, die bei der Weiterentwicklung der Projekte helfen! Alle anderen Anfragen können wir leider aus Kapazitätsgründen nicht bearbeiten.

Und jetzt? 

Der Hackathon ist ein Startpunkt für einen kontinuierlichen Beteiligungsprozess zur Entwicklung gemeinsamer Lösungen, damit wir dies große Herausforderung durch Covid-19 als Gesellschaft meistern. Du willst mit Deinem Team weiter an Eurer Lösung arbeiten? Ihr bringt das Commitment mit, in den kommenden Wochen und Monaten aus Euren Prototypen echte tragfähige Lösungen zu entwickeln? Oder ihr seid bereits eine bestehende Initiative und braucht Unterstützung in den nächsten Schritten? Genau dafür werden wir gemeinsam mit der Bundesregierung ein digitales Unterstützungsprogramm starten, damit Eure Lösungen maximale Wirkung in der Corona Krise entfalten können. 

Initiatoren

Wie können wir als Gesellschaft die Herausforderungen, die im Zuge der Corona (Covid-19) Krise entstehen, mit neuen Lösungen gemeinsam meistern? Diese Frage haben wir – das sind 7 soziale Initiativen – uns alle am Sonntag gestellt. Unterstützt werden wir vom Bundeskanzleramt und Digitalrat.

Seit Montag arbeiten über 14 Vertreter:innen dieser 7 Organisationen mit vereinter Kraft und Kreativität remote, aber in Gemeinschaft, daran, den #WirVsVirus Hackathon der Bundesregierung zu realisieren:

Schirmherrschaft

Der #WirVsVirus Hackathon ist der Hackathon der Bundesregierung und steht unter der Schirmherrschaft des Chefs des Bundeskanzleramtes Prof. Dr. Helge Braun.